Determine My Chinese Reading Level: Part 2

I finished Book 2 in my series, and the stats are looking good!
Total Reading time: 2 hours 35 minutes (down from 2 hours 45 minutes in previous book)

Total Pages Read: 123 pages (the same as Book 1)

Average time per page:erage time per page: 1.26 minutes (down from 1.3 minutes per page)

Interestingly, there were less characters per page in Book 2 than in Book 1, but the chapters were longer.  This was an interesting shift in energy and time.

Strategies:

  • I used my timing strategies learned from Book 1, and I was able to finish the book in fewer sittings.
  • I wait until the end of the book to copy useful phrases and vocabulary into my flash cards

Predictions:

  • Books 1 and 2 had pinyin (romanization) over each character and my eyes tended to drift their quite often.  Books 3-6 don’t have any pinyin so I think 1) it’ll be quicker to get through the text because my eyes won’t be as distracted and 2) I think it’ll be more difficult to understand the meaning of some words.

Adjusting the Game Plan:

  • Other priorities are making it difficult for me to read more than one book a week so this is now my goal (rather than 3 per week).  Reality and Flexibility are a must!

2 thoughts on “Determine My Chinese Reading Level: Part 2

  1. This reminds me of how you triumphed your water polo experience. You’d see the pool & break down the laps into smaller numbers, that you could accomplish. In addition the math game was a great way to stay focused. It’s awesome to know that this method can work in other areas.

    Loves,
    ~mom~

    • That’s funny you remember that mom, I was just so friggin’ bored of chasing walls when swimming, I had to make it more fun somehow. So if I had 1000m that I was supposed to swim, that’s 100x100m, or in a 25m pool, that’s 400x25m, oh my gosh that sounds as much fun as sharp pieces of wood being lodged under your finger nails, ughhh. Oh well, I had a great tan back then. Lesson learned: short term goals will get you to your long term goals. Boom.

Leave a comment